Category Archives: Literary Awards

Man Booker Prize Winners to 2015

One of the most hotly anticipated events in the annual British literary calendar is the Man Booker prize. The prize, which has been running since 1969, is awarded to the best novel of the year written in English and published in the UK. Booksellers, publishers, authors and bibliophiles all get excited about this one and I look forward to it every year.

The prize is not to be sneezed at – £50,000 for the winner and £2,500 each for the shortlisted authors makes this a trophy on many novelists’ wish lists. Money matters aside, there is also great kudos attached to the Booker and shortlisted and winning authors can expect a healthy boost in sales.

I’ve put this list together mainly for my own benefit as I often look up the prizewinners by year and this will be a useful quick reference tool for me so hopefully others will find it useful too. I plan to explore shortlisted titles and international prizes in later posts.

Inaugural Year
1969 – Something to Answer For by P. H. Newby

1970 – The Elected Member by Bernice Rubens
1971 – In a Free State by V. S. Naipaul
1972 – G. by John Berger
1973 – The Siege of Krishnapur by J. G. Farrell
1974 – Holiday by Stanley Middleton AND The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer
1975 – Heat and Dust by Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1976 – Saville by David Storey
1977 – Staying On by Paul Scott
1978 – The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch
1979 – Offshore by Penelope Fitzgerald

1980 – Rites of Passage by William Golding
1981 – Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie
1982 – Schindler’s Ark by Thomas Keneally
1983 – Life & Times of Michael K by J. M. Coetzee
1984 – Hotel du Lac by Anita Brookner
1985 – The Bone People by Keri Hulme
1986 – The Old Devils by Kingsley Amis
1987 – Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively
1988 – Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey
1989 – Remains of the Day by Kashuo Ishiguro

1990 – Possession by A. S. Byatt
1991 – The Famished Road by Ben Okri
1992 – The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje AND Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth
1993 – Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha by Roddy Doyle
1994 – How late it was, how late by James Kelman
1995 – The Ghost Road by Pat Barker
1996 – Last Orders by Graham Swift
1997 – The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
1998 – Amsterdam by Ian McEwan
1999 – Disgrace by J. M. Coetzee

2000 – The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood
2001 – True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey
2002 – Life of Pi by Yann Martel
2003 – Vernon God Little by D. B. C. Pierre
2004 – The Line of Beauty by Alan Hollinghurst
2005 – The Sea by John Banville
2006 – The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai
2007 – The Gathering by Anne Enright
2008 – The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga
2009 – Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel

2010 – The Finkler Question by Howard Jacobson
2011 – The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes
2012 – Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
2013 – The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
2014 – The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan
2015 – A Brief History of Seven Killings by Marlon James

The Lost Man Booker Prize
In 2010 a special prize was awarded for a novel published in the year 1970. For the first two years of the prize, the prize was awarded retrospectively for books published in the previous year. The rules changed in 1971 to books published in the year of the award, which meant that books published in 1970 missed out altogether. Six books were shortlisted for the award and the winner was:
Troubles by J. G. Farrell

The Best of the Booker Prize
In 2008 a special prize was awarded to celebrate 40 years of the Booker. The winner was Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie.

The Man Booker Best of Beryl Prize
This special prize was awarded in April, 2011, to celebrate the work of Beryl Bainbridge; five times shortlisted but never a winner (The Booker Bridesmaid). The public were invited to vote online for their favourite from The Dressmaker, The Bottle Factory Outing, An Awfully Big Adventure, Every Man for Himself, and Master Georgie. The winner was Master Georgie. Beryl died in 2010.

Where to Buy
As always, I recommend shopping at your local independent bookshops, or buying online from, where you can still support your local independent bookshop by nominating them to receive a percentage of your sale on Hive. Shop local to keep your High Streets alive. For out-of-print or collectable editions try your local bookshops again or I don’t receive commissions for recommending these sites to you (only Hive commissions if you nominate Books & Ink as your favourite bookshop!!).

A selection of Booker Prize winning novels